County of Comanche

Gary "Corky" Underwood

Commissioner, Precinct No. 1

Russell Gillette

Commissioner, Precinct No.2



Sherman Sides

Commissioner, Precinct No. 3

Jimmy Dale Johnson

Commissioner, Precinct No. 4

Stephanie L. Davis-County Judge

101 W. Central Comanche, TX 76442-3299 Phone: 325-356-2466 or 2773 Fax: 325-356-3710

ORDER RESTRICTING OUTDOOR BURNING

WHEREAS, the Commissioners Court has determined that circumstances present in all or part of the unincorporated area of the county create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by outdoor burning;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the Commissioners Court of Comanche County that all outdoor burning is banned in the unincorporated area of the county to begin May 11, 2020 until May 26, 2020, unless the restrictions are terminated earlier based on a determination made by the Texas Forest Service or this Court.

This Order is adopted pursuant to Local Government Code 352.081, and other applicable statutes. This order does not prohibit outdoor burning activities related to public health and safety that are authorized by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality for (1) firefighter training; (2) public utility, natural gas pipeline or mining operations; (3) planting or harvesting of agricultural crops; or, (4) burns that are conducted by a prescribed burn manager certified under Section 153.048, Natural Resources Code, and meet the standards of Section 153.047, Natural Resources Code.

Welding is allowed on the condition that a spotter is present at all times and a fire suppression method is available. Individual outdoor cooking is permitted in an enclosed barbecue pit.

In accordance with Local Government Code 352.081 (h), a violation of this Order is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed \$500.00.

The County Judge may rescind this Order upon a determination that the circumstances that required the Order no longer exist.

ADOPTED this the 11th day of May, 2020.

Hon. Stephanie L. Davis Comanche County Judge

Gary "Corky" Underwood Commissioner, Precinct No. 1

Russell Gillette

Commissioner, Precinct No. 2

Sherman Sides

Commissioner, Precinct No.3

Jimmy Dale Johnson

Commissioner, Precinct No. 4

Ruby Lesley, Comanche County Clerk